European Mobility Week 2021

16/09/2021 - 22/09/2021

Smart Cities Smart Mobility

Towns and cities worldwide are warmly invited to participate in EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK, which takes place 16-22 September each year. Only the official local authority of the participating town or city may register on behalf of the city.

When registering, town and cities can select which of the three options – organising activities focused on sustainable mobility during the week, implementing one or more permanent transport measures, or holding a ‘Car-Free-Day’ – they will be carrying out to celebrate the week. Local authorities that complete all three are referred to as ‘Golden participants’.

Golden participants are eligible to apply for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards, which recognise local authorities that make outstanding efforts to promote sustainable urban mobility during the main week of the campaign. The application is open from 29 September to 31 October 2021.

Although EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK is open to towns and cities from across the world, only town and cities situated in the following countries are eligible to apply for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo*, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine.

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence’