100 Climate neutral cities
28 february 2022 | Location: Espoo, Leipzig, Maia, Reykjavik
Smart Cities

Three of the cities participating in SPARCS, Reykjavik, Espoo, Leipzig and Maia, have all registered their interest in becoming one of the 100 cities in Horizon Europe‘s Mission 100 Climate Neutral Cities.

There was a great interest in the call and a total of 377 cities applied to become a part of the mission representing 18% of the EU population. The mission is to create 100 climate-neutral and smart cities by 2030 and to bring the European countries closer together in the fight against climate change. The 100 chosen cities will act as hubs of experimentation and innovation for other European Cities to follow by 2050.

The cities will be announced in spring 2022.

Read more on the European Commission’s website .